RSS Feed

Favourite Foodsites in 2013


There are so many foodsites and blogs, my inbox is sometimes a little inundated, since I’m an inveterate  foodie and don’t want to miss anything. I sign up for everything, then find I don’t have the time to read it all. A drastic selection has to be made just from the three or four words appearing in the title line.

But some I always open, knowing from the sender’s details that everything will be worth reading. May I share with you the ones that I find most worthwhile?

Daily Unadventures in Cooking

Katerina is based in Vancouver, and regularly comes up with really interesting recipes, of which a lot are of Asian origin, my favourite food area of the world!

Pork-Belly Unadventures

But I have chosen her Slow Roasted Pork Belly to share here, it is mouthwateringly good and the photo really makes you need to go straight out and buy a piece of pork!

100 Days of Real Food

Lisa Leake really follows and expounds upon my own ethic, that of avoiding processed food at all costs, which is, I should imagine, far easier to do in France than in the States! Her recipes are simple, manageable and delicious. She has just finished her first book of recipes and tips,  which is available for pre-order on her website.

100Days Chicken Enchiladas

Here is her recipe for Chicken Enchiladas.

Laylita’s Recipes

Laylita is from Ecuador, and has a wonderful website with recipes from South America (a special section on Ecuador), as well as others from around the world. She has a stupendous collection of ceviches, as you can see from the photo below.  I like especially the spiciness of her recipes and the wonderful photos.

Laylita's langostino-ceviche-2

This is her recipe for Langostino ceviche, but if you can’t get langoustines, she has other recipes for oysters, plain fish, and even vegetarian ceviches.

Plan to Eat

This is a very nifty, family-run website (which means extremely friendly and quick to react to comments and problems). It allows you, with an app on your toolbar, to copy to your account’s recipe book  any recipe you come across on internet (or manually to enter a recipe you find in a book or by word of mouth). That in itself is unusual and valuable. But it also enables you to make weekly meal plans simply by dragging recipes from your recipe book to any given day. From your mealplan, the  site edits a shopping list for the week. All this saves a lot of time and trouble and wondering what on earth you are going to give your family to eat.

Plan to Eat has a very good periodic blog, dealing with aspects of cooking, buying food, nutrition, recipes and book reviews.

Tortore

Tortore is a fairly new blog. Darya writes in French, but the particularity of her blog is that it is entirely bilingual, she translates everything into English. I have chosen it for that reason and because her approach is healthy and uncomplicated, and her photos quite lovely.

Here is her recipe for gratin dauphinois, a French classic:

Tortore - gratin dauphinois

They Draw and Cook

This is a wonderfully inventive and novel website, illustrated by artists from all over the world. The recipes are often quirky and a bit different. The artwork is amazing and colourful and I for one would like to paper my kitchen with it!

I have chosen Van Dang’s Vietnamese Pork Sandwich:

drawandcook van dang pork sandwich

And since I am incapable of choosing just one, here is Maria Zapis Wymer’s Greek Lamb Shanks:

They draw Greek Lamb Shanks, Maria Zapis Wymer

Do browse the site, it is terribly addictive.

Adora’s Box

So many wonderful recipes, a lot of them Asian and especially Filipino, it’s extremely hard to choose just one. Adora’s blog is attractive, chatty and informative, and once again, superb photos, lots of them!

Adora's Box,lumpiang

Here is her recipe for lumpiang, Filipino spring rolls.

Italian Food Forever

Another site that satisfies. Varied and unfailingly delicious, mouthwateringly tempting photos, and somehow an air of summer and the Mediterranean that soothes and comforts. Here are her Procuitto-wrapped stuffed summer figs, which will confirm everything I have just written!

Italian food forever, stuffed figs

I hope I have tempted you to browse some of these sites and their recipes. I may add that I have no affiliate or other link to any of them whatsoever.

Bon appétit et Bonne Année, pleine de joies culinaires!

Happy New Year, may it be filled with culinary delights!

About OneFrenchWord

I was a professional linguist and have been a life-long foodie. I am now lucky enough to be retired and free to roam the beaches around my home at the tip of the Finistère (Brittany, France). Writing is occupying a larger place in my life, with this blog and a children's book in preparation. I shall feel much happier calling myself a writer when I have published a book. And so posts on OneFrenchWord will be published first as an e-book, my ambition being to see a glossy volume on French language and cuisine in print some day. So keep reading, and snap up the book when it appears!

8 responses »

  1. Bonne année Caroline! Un grand merci de m’avoir fait figurer parmi tous ces magnifiques blogs dont les recettes me font toutes saliver (le ceviche a l’air particulièrement délicieux et je ne connais pas grand chose à la cuisine d’Amérique du Sud, ce sera l’occasion de découvrir) ! Cela me fait plaisir que vous ayez choisi mon gratin dauphinois pour illustrer mes recettes, ce n’est pas ma recette la plus consultée, et pourtant il est vraiment bon !

    Reply
    • Merci Darya! J’ai choisi votre gratin dauphinois car c’est la “vraie” recette (tout le monde veut rajouter du fromage!), mais j’aurai pu choisir votre choucroute ou l’un de vos plats venant de l’Irak. Tout est bon sur votre blog!

      Reply
  2. Yes Caroline you ARE a foodie. I shall definitely try some of these.

    Reply
  3. Love your blog, and this one, thank you. You are definitely a writer… amongst many other wonderful things. :-)

    Reply
  4. What a wonderful blog roll. You have a great article here.

    Reply

It's so much more fun if you leave a comment!

