RSS Feed

One French word: fraise, a French recipe : fraises au limoncello


Fraise, feminine noun (une fraise, la fraise, des fraises) = strawberry (pronounced frezz).

It’s the strawberry season! With the lovely weather we have been having for the last two weeks, they are early. Some of the best strawberries in France are grown at Plougastel, in the Finistère, just north of me. So fruit and veg stalls are all carrying wonderfully fragrant, tasty, ripe Gariguettes de Plougastel, a particularly delicious variety.

Fraises au limoncello

A very simple recipe today: with strawberries, the simplest is often the best: fraises au limoncello = strawberries with lemon liqueur.

Fraises Gariguettes de Plougastel

Per portion you will need:

  • 100gr – 150gr strawberries
  • 1tsp sugar
  • the grated zest of a lemon
  • 1tbs limoncello (Italian lemon liqueur)

A particularly good Limoncello…

… in a very attractive bottle

Preparation:

  1. Rinse the strawberries briefly and hull them. Cut them into four lengthwise.
  2. Sprinkle with sugar.
  3. Grate over them the rind of the lemon, or use a zester to make thin strips.
  4. Pour over the tbs of limoncello.
  5. Stir delicately and put into the fridge for at least an hour, four hours is better.
  6. Remove from the fridge at least half an hour before eating. Stir again.

So simple, very flavoursome, but only use really ripe, juicy strawberries. No point at all if they are not.

Bon appétit!

About OneFrenchWord

I was a professional linguist and have been a life-long foodie. I am now lucky enough to be retired and free to roam the beaches around my home at the tip of the Finistère (Brittany, France). Writing is occupying a larger place in my life, with this blog and a children's book in preparation. I shall feel much happier calling myself a writer when I have published a book. And so posts on OneFrenchWord will be published first as an e-book, my ambition being to see a glossy volume on French language and cuisine in print some day. So keep reading, and snap up the book when it appears!

12 responses »

  1. marshmallowfluffxo

    sounds delicious!

    Reply
  2. The only thing I don’t like about this recipe is that up here in the north we have to wait almost until Midsummer for the strawberries to be sweet and ripe! Yours look perfect on the pictures.
    Strawberries and Limoncello, could it be much better? I’m really looking forward to Midsummer and this delicious fraises au limoncello!

    Reply
  3. Yes these were perfect, and although they were more expensive than the ones I bought in February (and riper), I shall buy them regularly, such a pleasure and so good (for you). My aunt, brought up in France and living in America for the last 40 years, used to remark that in France we say to children “eat up, it’s good” (mange, c’est bon), whereas in the States she thought people more often said “eat up, it’s good for you”… a different approach to food?

    Reply
    • Yes, I think so and I have to admit that here we mostly say “eat up, it’s good for you”………..or “it makes you strong”.

      Reply
  4. How delicious— I don’t think we have any local strawberries yet but when ours are ripe I shall definitely try that. Lucky you!!

    Reply
  5. I made this last night for dessert and it was yummy. I don’t drink alcohol so I used fresh lemon juice with a few drops of rosewater instead of the limoncello. It’s a very nice way of eating strawberries. Thank you!

    Reply
  6. Ah, good! Yes, good idea for those not wanting alcohol and for children.

    Reply
  7. They also grow Gariguettes down here. The first time I tasted them was when we were househunting 15 years ago and I was amazed by their natural sweetness, since I had never been a great fan of strawberries. The season’s just beginning here so I am looking forward to gorging myself on them and will certainly try the limoncello with them.

    Reply
  8. STRAWBERRIES AND LIMONCELLO IS A GREAT IDEA. I MAKE MY OWN LIMONCELLO AT HOME. IN FACT I STILL HAVE SOME IN MY FREEZER !

    Reply
  9. Pingback: Italian Delights: Cookies and Frozen Fruits « jovinacooksitalian

It's so much more fun if you leave a comment!

