RSS Feed

One French word: végétarisme, no recipe today


Végétarisme, masculine noun (le végétarisme, but you can’t say un végétarisme or des végétarismes) = vegetarianism.

Végétarien = vegetarian, végétalien = vegan

I’ve just spent a week trying to be a good vegetarian: have you noticed it from my recipes? What set it off was a nasty picture of a sow in a farrowing crate. I have been told by someone close to me, a vet into the bargain, that although he agrees the practice should not exist, pig farmers are essentially in business to produce as many healthy piglets as possible and that these pictures are meant to be manipulative. Nevertheless, it put me off a bit. Enough to stop me eating pork all week, all meat in fact. I only cheated once with a bit of duck.

I thought I’d feel the difference. I thought I’d lose weight. Well I didn’t.

I maybe felt less “full” after meals, sometimes so much less full that I had to have a snack before going to bed, which is something I just never do. Now real vegetarians will laugh and say: what to you expect after just a week? Well, I know, I ought to keep it up a bit longer, but I don’t know if I can manage it.

Better have another quick look at that picture of the sow in the farrowing crate…

About OneFrenchWord

I was a professional linguist and have been a life-long foodie. I am now lucky enough to be retired and free to roam the beaches around my home at the tip of the Finistère (Brittany, France). Writing is occupying a larger place in my life, with this blog and a children's book in preparation. I shall feel much happier calling myself a writer when I have published a book. And so posts on OneFrenchWord will be published first as an e-book, my ambition being to see a glossy volume on French language and cuisine in print some day. So keep reading, and snap up the book when it appears!

8 responses »

  1. Of course Caroline, I have noticed it with pleasure! On the other hand, since I mostly look for vegetarian recipes only, it’s just normal…..
    If you really want to loose weight, then excluding egg and milk-products too is a very effective way. It’s more complicated though, you must learn how to get all you need in a different way. For a couple of years I practised this and I must say that never before or after has my body felt so well in every aspect. You loose your sweet tooth also. These are my experiences.
    Right now I have the opposite problem. I will soon be going on a trip to Africa and to make things easier I have decided to try to get used to eating fish and seafood if there will be difficulties finding enough protein otherwise. This is based on experiences on my last trip there.
    My stomach is not so happy about this idea, but worse is that I don’t like the taste of fish anymore. I used to like it very much!

    Reply
    • Thank you, Inga-Lill for your help. I have no problem working out protein rations etc. It’s the pleasure i get from eating that is missing. I must persist. When I was in India last year, I cut out milk products, cheese and eggs and I lost a lot of weight; but I also had an hour of massage a day for a month! I think losing weight is a losing battle with me, but I would like to feel more “responsible” my not eating meat, you know? I’ll keep trying.

      Reply
      • Yes, and yet you have presented som many good vegetarian recipes! I think that more than just make it easier, my strongest reason for not dropping milk-products any more is that I love cheese and can’t resist it.
        Even if the strongest reason for changing the diet was to improve the health I must say that it is a very strong bonus knowing that the meat-industry is not involved. How do you feel about eating the meat from only wild animals?
        And maybe a little word of comfort. My sense of taste was growing and became much stronger shortly after the diet change! You know, maybe it sounds lunatic, but I could find a potatoe heavenly tasty!
        This is how I think and how I want to eat. Hopefully everyone can choose her own way without provoking too many others.
        I am sure, with your talents, you will find your own way of eating with both pleasure and responsability!

        Reply
  2. I was reading about a new kick, called the paleo diet, where people eat only things our prehistoric ancestors ate!!! All meat, fish, nuts, seeds, berries. People are actually doing this. Check it out.

    I do feel bad about the animals and how they are treated. I don’t even like meat that much. But I refuse to be on some type of food kick that means I cannot share food with others.

    Moderation in all things. I do not like to apologize for the food industry, because I think they are criminals, many of them, but lets face it, if they did not use these high productive techniques, wouldn’t food be really expensive, and many more people would be starving? I would be interested to know the facts on this. I am open to all ideas.

    Reply
    • Caroline Vidican

      Well let’s say that my first priority is that food should be fresh, and should nourish one’s body (and soul if possible). If food is being so mass produced as to be cheap, it is only filling us up, not nourishing us. So maybe we have to get back, as far as possible, to producing our own food, then we know what we are eating. Even in city apartments this is possible with new hanging gardens, drip systems, etc. But a cow or a pig or even a chicken cannot be raised on a drip system in a city apartment. So we may end up having to eat less and less meat. I prefer fish. But only because I live by the sea and have an abundance of choice and it’s really fresh. I’m continuing to try this week to be mainly vegetarian.

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Vegetarian you Said? In La France! « French News Online Newsroom

It's so much more fun if you leave a comment!

