RSS Feed

One French word: amande, a French recipe: crème de riz aux amandes effilées


Amande, feminine noun (une amande, l’amande, les amandes) = almond (pronounced a-maand, slight stress on the second syllable).

NOT to be mixed up with une amende = a fine (for bad behaviour).

Amandes effilées = sliced almonds; amandes décortiquées = shelled almonds; amandes mondées = skinned almonds; amande amère = bitter almond; de l’huile d’amande douce = sweet almond oil; de l’essence d’amande = almond essence; de la pâte d’amande = marzipan; vert amande = the pale green of fresh almond husks;  les yeux en amande = slanted, almond shaped eyes.

My recipe: crème de riz aux amandes effilées = creamy rice with almonds.

Crème de riz aux amandes effilées

Some people loathe any form of rice pudding. I love it. I’ll share a memory of mine: when I was a child, quite a small child, I went to boarding school, where the food was fairly good. And if we were still hungry at the end of the meal, seconds were always, always rice pudding. It was so delicious, I had it every day.

This recipe is rich, creamy and flavoursome.

For 4 people, you will need:

  • 100gr pudding rice or risotto rice
  • 500ml milk
  • 100ml whipping cream (or 200ml if your rice is too thick)
  • 3 tbs honey
  • 6 cardamom pods
  • 1 vanilla pod
  • 1 slice of dried orange (or fresh orange, optional)
  • a handful of raisins
  • 1 tsp rose water or orange flower water (optional)
  • 50gr toasted sliced almonds (amandes effilées)

Preparation:

  1. In a fairly large saucepan, put the rice, the milk,  the crushed cardamom pods, the vanilla pod cut in two lengthways (i.e. two long thin strips to release the seeds), and bring to a simmer. Cook very gently for 20 minutes until the rice is tender, stirring often to prevent the rice from sticking to the bottom of the saucepan. Check that it is not thickening unduly, add milk if it does. The end result needs to be fairly thick (but not lumpy and cloggy), because you are going to add honey and cream.
  2. Remove the cardamom and vanilla and scrape out the seeds to put back into the rice. Stir. This may look a bit funny, with bits and pieces in the rice, but it will taste good. You can also leave all the pods in whole and just discard them when eating. This is not a gala dish, but a good rustic family dessert.
  3. Add the rose water, the cream and the raisins and the honey. Reheat without boiling for a minute or two, stirring.
  4. Serve warm or cold, garnished with the toasted almonds and the orange. (I cooked my slice of dried orange with the rice, so it doesn’t figure in my photo.)

Crème de riz

Gosh, this is good.

Bon appétit!

About OneFrenchWord

I was a professional linguist and have been a life-long foodie. I am now lucky enough to be retired and free to roam the beaches around my home at the tip of the Finistère (Brittany, France). Writing is occupying a larger place in my life, with this blog and a children's book in preparation. I shall feel much happier calling myself a writer when I have published a book. And so posts on OneFrenchWord will be published first as an e-book, my ambition being to see a glossy volume on French language and cuisine in print some day. So keep reading, and snap up the book when it appears!

9 responses »

  1. J’aime énormément les amandes, surtout les amandes grillées de ma grand-mère (caramélisées au parfum de cannelle), la poudre d’amandes dans les gâteaux et les pancakes… Et puis bien-sûr, le massepain ! Miam !!

    Reply
    • Ah? Intéressant de caraméliser les amandes + cannelle. Faut que j’essaie.

      Reply
      • C’est une recette plutot allemande, et c’est servi lors des “fetes au village” ou fetes forraines. C’est delicieux :) Dans mon village, il y a une colline qui s’appelle “Mandelberg” (en allemand, “montagne des amandes”) et il y a enorments d’amandiers :P La “fete aux amandes” a lieu tous les mois d’aout dans mon village, qui s’appelle Mittelwihr, en Alsace…

        Reply
  2. Hi Caroline, I just happened upon your blog. What a great job you are doing. Very nice. I received a Thermomix for Christmas and it has been on my list to make riz au lait in it as I imagine this is a recipe that would be ideally suited to it. I love the different flavors you have used in yours and will try them out. (I’m considering trying it with coconut milk as well since I am trying to cut down on our milk consumption). Anyway, thanks for the fun visit.

    Reply
    • Welcome! I hope you have signed up to follow? I have had a Thermomix for years, but so few people have them that I don’t talk about it or do recipes for them. The best thing I do in the Thermomix is lemon curd! I tried coconut milk in this rice recipe and it seemed to curdle, go granular. So I increased milk and cream instead. I’m off to have a look at your blog!

      Reply
      • Thanks for the tip Caroline. I think I will skip the coconut milk – I don’t fancy kitchen backfires. I’m going to use your ingredient list, but do it in the the Thermomix. I love my Thermomix and make anything I can in it. The best for me are soups – my fridge is always full of vegetables and I just throw in whatever needs using up. Thanks again for the recipe.

        Reply
  3. I don’t think I have ever eaten proper rice pudding. What we were served at school was disgusting and I have eschewed it since – no doubt a mistake. My husband loathes it – his mother in Sweden used to make what they call ‘rice porridge’ and he still shudders to think of it. However, your ingredients make it sound so much nicer. Perhaps I will make it as a surprise for him and we will both be converted.

    Reply

It's so much more fun if you leave a comment!

