RSS Feed

One French word : crevette, a (French) recipe: salade de mangue verte


Crevette, feminine noun (une crevette, la crevette, des crevettes) = shrimp (pronounced really as it looks, cre-vet, with the r in the back of your throat, no particular stress on either syllable).

Crevette rose = prawn, crevette grise = tiny grey shrimp, crevette cuite = cooked shrimp, crevette crue = raw shrimp, crevettes décortiquées = shelled shrimp, pêche à la crevette = shrimp fishing,

Crevette is a nice nickname for a child that is tiny. C’est une crevette.  And the sea-horse emblem of Air France is called la crevette.

My recipe for today is une salade de mangue verte aux crevettes = green mango and prawn salad. It is Vietnamese, not French at all, but I did warn you I’d use recipes from former French colonies. And on top of that, it’s not my recipe, I adapted it from a lovely book called Green Mango and Lemon Grass  which I can highly recommend. It is not only a cookery book but talks about South East Asian culture and is fascinating.

Salade de mangue verte aux crevettes

The recipe is really easy, you just need a few basic Asian ingredients, and of course green mangoes. Mine were on the ripening side of green, but still quite hard and the dish was stupendously good. Get them as green as you can.

For 4 people you will need:

  • 4 green mangoes (about 800gr), peeled
  • 2tsp caster sugar
  • 4 kaffir lime leaves chopped into very fine strips (or the finely grated peel of two limes)
  • 4 finely sliced shallotts
  • 1 finely sliced spring onion
  • 4 tbs chopped coriander leaves
  • 2  tiny red chilis, sliced
  • 2 sticks of lemon grass, outside leaves discarded, then chopped
  • 2 tbs nuoc mam (Vietnamese fish sauce)
  • juice of 2 limes
  • 600gr fresh peeled cooked prawns (about 25gr each)

Close up of green mango and prawn salad

Preparation:

  1. Cut the flesh off the mangoes and grate as you would for grated carrots. Same sort of shreds, not too fine, not too thick.
  2. Put the grated mango into a large bowl with the caster sugar and mix for 30 seconds with your fingers.
  3. Add all the other ingredients apart from the shrimp. Mix well.
  4. Add the shrimp and serve immediately.

Two bowls of salade de mangue verte aux crevettes

Looks good, doesn’t it? Just had it for lunch. Fantastic.

Bon appétit.

About OneFrenchWord

I was a professional linguist and have been a life-long foodie. I am now lucky enough to be retired and free to roam the beaches around my home at the tip of the Finistère (Brittany, France). Writing is occupying a larger place in my life, with this blog and a children's book in preparation. I shall feel much happier calling myself a writer when I have published a book. And so posts on OneFrenchWord will be published first as an e-book, my ambition being to see a glossy volume on French language and cuisine in print some day. So keep reading, and snap up the book when it appears!

6 responses »

  1. I often order green mango salad at my favorite Vietnamese restaurant. Oh, no, another great recipe for me to print out. This ink is expensive and it goes so quickly!!!

    Reply
  2. You don’t have to print it out. Just look at my index and go back to my blog when you want to do the recipe! But I’m flattered nevertheless!

    Reply
    • Yes, I know, but I still like things on old fashioned paper. I do have an ipad, and so I can just use that in the kitchen. I even saw ipad holders that protect it while you use it for recipes!!

      Reply
  3. We do not have a lot of Vietnamese places here but I do enjoy the food. The recipe looks very fresh and I would love to try it. Thank you for sharing.

    Reply
  4. Minnesota has a large Vietnamese population. Refugee resettlement through the American Refugee Committee and Lutheran Social Service has brought large numbers of Vietnamese, Thai, Cambodian, Somalian and most recently Burmese (Karen) people to our area.

    And Vietnamese refugees have been in our country long enough that we are going on 2nd generation in business; many of them have opened restaurants. So, we are very familiar with Vietnamese food (pho, bun salads and bahn mi sandwiches). But I have never had this particular mango salad. This looks so good — I am hoping to be able to find green mangoes; maybe at the Vietnamese market on Saturday.

    Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

It's so much more fun if you leave a comment!

