RSS Feed

One French word: moule, a French recipe: gâteau à l’ananas


Moule in the sense of a mold (un moule) not mussels (une moule, des moules, feminine), we’ll come to them later.

Moule, masculine noun (un moule, le moule, des moules) = a cake mold (pronounced mool).

Moule à manqué = a round fairly deep cake tin; moule en silicone = silicone mold; moule à gaufres = waffle iron.

Just one expression: coulé dans le moule = true to type (made in the same mold)

Not mould, that is moisi.

I mentioned in a post a few days ago on juices that my juicer instructions tell me I can re-use the pulp from juicing to make cakes and other things. So I experimented. My recipe for today is a gâteau à l’ananas, made with the pulp from juicing a whole pineapple (minus a slice to make little chunks with for my cake). If you don’t have a juicer, just peel and core a pineapple, keep a slice to dice (for more texture in your cake) and cut the rest into large chunks and blend it to make a pulp. If your pulp is very juicy, I think I would strain it, and drink the juice, or your cake may be a little over moist.

Gâteau à l’ananas

If you are using pulp from juicing, be very careful with the state of your fruit, that is, don’t put anything into the juicer that you do not wish to find in your cake afterwards, like the scratchy “eyes”. Remove these if you don’t want them appearing in your slice of cake.

For one cake for about 6 -8 people you will need:

  • 1 pineapple (mine weighed 1175gr) from which you will take:
  •  75gr of little cubes
  • 220gr of pulp

This is what I got from my pineapple

Hang on a minute. I started with a 1175gr pineapple. I ended up with 75gr of cubes, 220gr of pulp, and 200gr of juice. Missing: 670gr = skin and core. Conclusion: pineapple is not a very economical fruit.

  • 3 eggs
  • 150gr sugar
  • 150gr plain flour (or, if you use self raising, leave out the baking powder)
  • 5gr baking powder (not baking soda)
  • 50gr melted butter

Preparation:

  1. Pre heat the oven to 180°C
  2. In a large bowl whip the eggs with the sugar, add the flour, baking powder, pineapple pulp and cubes. Mix well with a wooden spoon.
  3. Pour in the melted butter, stir.
  4. Spoon into a greased cake mold (or an ungreased silicone mold, or muffin or cupcake cases) and bake for 35 minutes or so (if you are doing mini versions, adapt the cooking time: my mini ones took 10 mins. But they are very mini (about 2.5cm across).

Mini cakes, blurry but I wanted to show you the molds

Unmolded mini cakes

I found the cake very tasty but a bit stringy. The pulp left after juicing is partly made up of tough fibres. The pulp from carrot juicing would not have the same consistency (use the same recipe with no carrot chunks). The ingredients above include a bit more flour than I actually used, the cake was too moist. And made little pockets around the pulp.

Gâteau à l’ananas just out of the oven

To my mind, using juicer pulp is taking economy too far, but the cake was very good, and half of it has disappeared already.

Bon appétit.

About OneFrenchWord

I was a professional linguist and have been a life-long foodie. I am now lucky enough to be retired and free to roam the beaches around my home at the tip of the Finistère (Brittany, France). Writing is occupying a larger place in my life, with this blog and a children's book in preparation. I shall feel much happier calling myself a writer when I have published a book. And so posts on OneFrenchWord will be published first as an e-book, my ambition being to see a glossy volume on French language and cuisine in print some day. So keep reading, and snap up the book when it appears!

5 responses »

  1. Where do the pineapples come from? We get them on the West Coast from Hawaii, but even at that, they are just do not taste the way the ones actually in Hawaii taste.

    Reply
  2. By the way, I ate at a French restaurant last night and I ordered blanquette de veau, inspired by your recipe, but their was way too salty!!!

    Reply
  3. I have to admit that pineapple has never been my favourite fruit and, judging by your post, it’s not the most productive, either! However, maybe as a cake ingredient I would like it more.

    Reply

It's so much more fun if you leave a comment!

