RSS Feed

One French word: jus, a (French) recipe: jus vitaminé


Jus, masculine noun (le jus, du jus, des jus) = juice (pronounce with a very soft j and a French u; the s is not heard, of course).

Un jus can also be used colloquially for a coffee, un jus de chaussette is bad coffee (sock juice).

Le jus can mean electric current: prendre un coup de jus = to receive an electric shock.

I felt like juice today. Just juice. Lots of vitamins. Un jus vitaminé. So I’m not inventing anything, but I got my juicer out and experimented. I have a Philips juicer, which although still boring to clean, is the easiest I’ve come across. The Magimix juicer I had before that vibrated so much that it cracked itself (just outside the guarantee period of course…).

Idées d’ingrédients pour le jus

I wanted a pretty juice, which means I could not use the lettuce and other salads I had in the fridge; they don’t look good unless you use them alone (or with ginger and apple), and they don’t taste that good either. So I used a whole large raw beetroot, some apples, and some carrots. Not overly inventive. Although my machine’s instructions tell me I don’t need to peel and core, I don’t fancy that, so I peeled and cored everything. Then I got four glasses out, juiced the vegetables and fruits separately into the juicer jug,  2 apples, then 2 carrots, then the beetroot, so that the colours did not mix, and put the juice in three of the glasses.

Trois jus

You can see how much was produced: the beetroot produced by far the most juice, followed by the apple, the carrot coming in last. I tasted each juice separately, the beetroot was a bit harsh, but sweet at the same time; one could drink it alone. The carrot and the apple were delicious, of course, very sweet. So then I mixed half carrot-half beetroot (very good), and half apple-half beetroot (very good), and then one third beetroot, one third carrot, one third apple (the best). Adding a squeeze of lime didn’t improve it.

Jus vitaminé

My Philips machine’s instructions tell me I can use the residual pulp for making cakes or jam. I’ve never tried that. I should really. Have any of you?

The sun is out, I have deep red juice for my lunch, and I feel very virtuous.

Do you have any good combinations, anything a bit more exotic?

About OneFrenchWord

I was a professional linguist and have been a life-long foodie. I am now lucky enough to be retired and free to roam the beaches around my home at the tip of the Finistère (Brittany, France). Writing is occupying a larger place in my life, with this blog and a children's book in preparation. I shall feel much happier calling myself a writer when I have published a book. And so posts on OneFrenchWord will be published first as an e-book, my ambition being to see a glossy volume on French language and cuisine in print some day. So keep reading, and snap up the book when it appears!

10 responses »

  1. Oh, a juice experiment!!!! Just the sort of thing up my alley!!

    Reply
  2. My husband and I recently moved to a tiny cottage on the San Francisco Bay when our youngest child moved out. We still have our big family house in the mountains which is where all of our appliances are including our juicer. We don’t even have a mixer here! Can you imagine empty kitchen cupboards (we have five empty)? So when I was showing my husband your blog today (we discussed it at length over dinner last night), I skipped over the juice post and went right to the blinis au sarrasin. He’s the chef in our family so I’m sending him a link.

    Reply
    • Lucky you, having a hushand chef for the family! Skip further back and have a look at the goat’s cheese tart, that was good. No I can’t imagine having empty kitchen cupboards, mine are overflowing! But it’s true that a lot of appliances are only rarely used.

      Reply
  3. No, I haven’t used the pulp for cakes, interesting thought, though.

    I freeze the juice of a watermelon mixed with freshly chopped mint. Pop it into ice cube trays. It makes a refreshing starter when popped on top of melon. Easy and quick to defrost.

    Reply
  4. Now you have tempted me to get myself a juicer too……. Your pictures today are looking so colourful and extremely healthy.
    A related tip from me is to make smoothies, I have found that children that refuse fruits are happy to drink a fruity smoothie.

    Reply
  5. marshmallowfluffxo

    the juices look pretty and tasty!

    Reply
  6. Pingback: One French word: moule, a French recipe: gâteau à l’ananas | One French Word

It's so much more fun if you leave a comment!

