RSS Feed

One French word: sarrasin, a French recipe: blinis au sarrasin


Sarrasin, masculine noun (le sarrasin, du sarrasin) = buckwheat; (un Sarrazin, des Sarrazins) = Saracen.

Buckwheat is a cereal, the dark flour of which is very much used in Brittany where I live, to make savoury pancakes (galettes). Sweet pancakes (crêpes) are made with wheat flour.

Sarrasin or Sarrazin is also the word for Saracen, a mediaeval term designating Arabs and Muslims in general.

The cereal was introduced to Brittany by Anne de Bretagne, Duchess of Brittany and wife of the French king Charles VIII (interesting story in French). The land in the region was poor and buckwheat grew well, becoming a staple in the form of galettes. The cereal originated in Egypt and its name comes from its dark colour, reminiscent to the mediaeval mind of the dark skin of the Saracens.

Blinis au sarrasin

My recipe for today is for blinis au sarrasin to eat with smoked fish (or caviar if you have any to hand). Blinis are Russian, not French of course, the word blini is already a plural and means pancakes. But made with buckwheat, they take on a distinctly Breton flavour. They are easy to make and so much better than packaged versions.

For about 24 small blinis, you will need:

  • 100gr buckwheat flour
  • 100gr plain flour
  • ¼ tsp salt or to taste
  • ½ tsp sugar
  • 1/2 tsp quick yeast
  • 200ml milk
  • 40gr salted butter
  • 2 eggs

Bubbles in the blini

Preparation:

  1. Mix the dry ingredients in a bowl.
  2. Warm the milk and the butter and add to the flour.
  3. Stir well with a fork so that there are no lumps and leave to sit at room temperature for half an hour, covered with a tea towel.
  4. Beat the eggs and add them gently to the mixture. It should be heavy in consistency, more so than a normal pancake batter, more like American breakfast pancakes, so that it will not spread all over the pan. The finished blini should be about 6cm across. But don’t try for perfection and symmetry, these are home-made.
  5. In a non stick frying pan, put two tbs of the mixture as many times as the pan will hold without the blinis spreading and sticking to each other. I do them one at a time in a small pan.
  6. Cook for 1-2 minutes, until bubbles rise and burst. Turn and cook 1-2 minutes on the other side. Keep them warm under a folded tea towel.
  7. Serve with smoked fish, sour or heavy cream and lemon juice. They are also good to use as bread to scoop up hummus or avocado dip.

Blinis au sarrasin et saumon fumé

Blinis do not keep well. Eat them all, and quickly. And don’t worry if the first two are not a success. This is always the way with pancakes. Put a stray piece of smoked salmon on these and eat them while you cook, or give them to the dog.

Bon appétit.

About OneFrenchWord

I was a professional linguist and have been a life-long foodie. I am now lucky enough to be retired and free to roam the beaches around my home at the tip of the Finistère (Brittany, France). Writing is occupying a larger place in my life, with this blog and a children's book in preparation. I shall feel much happier calling myself a writer when I have published a book. And so posts on OneFrenchWord will be published first as an e-book, my ambition being to see a glossy volume on French language and cuisine in print some day. So keep reading, and snap up the book when it appears!

13 responses »

  1. originalapplejunkie

    I LOVE LOVE blinis!
    I had a french housemate for 3 months who would make these all the time :D
    Now I know how to make them! They probably won’t be as good as hers though!
    The classic lemon juice tastes good..but they taste amazing with peach slices and icing sugar :D..but I have a sweet tooth *covers face*

    Reply
  2. Caroline, I do enjoy reading your blog and am learning a lot from it! Sarrasin is a much more beautiful word than the Swedish “bovete”.
    Actually I use sarrasin almost every day mixed with other sereals in my pretty rough breakfast-porridge.
    I will try blinis too, also with hummus. Long ago I stayed in Lebanon for a while and picked up a little of the middle east, very good, cooking.
    Lebanon was often compared to France in the aspect of sofiticated cooking. What do you think?

    Reply
    • I think the Lebanon and France have a lot in common. Wasn’t Beyrouth called the Paris of the orient?

      Yes I remember your porridge, rather rustic wasn’t it?!

      I think these little blinis would be good just buttered.

      Reply
  3. I’ve never tried making blinis, only ordinary pancakes. My mother made them, though, and they were very good. I’ve always eaten them with smoked fish but I like the idea of using them as a scoop for a dip. No caviar to hand, alas, only the lumpfish roe variety: no comparison. A local organic shop sells buckwheat flour so I’ve no excuse not to try making them.

    Reply
  4. Another interesting recipe to try…. I love the history with the food!!!

    Reply
  5. I’m learning at the same time! I don’t look up recipes on internet but boy do it use if for references, word origins etc.

    Reply
  6. I love blinis, but have to go to bigger supermarkets to find buckwheat. Worth the trip though. I can ‘smell’ these from here

    Reply
  7. Give them the address of my blog, that way they’ll know what to stock!

    Reply

It's so much more fun if you leave a comment!

