RSS Feed

One French word: noix, a French recipe: salade de céleri aux noix et aux dattes


Noix, feminine noun (une noix, la noix, des noix) = generic word for nut, more especially walnut (pronounced nwaa, the x is not heard)

Noix de cajou = cashew nut, noix de pécan = pecan, noix du brésil = brazil nut

But also une noix de beurre = a teaspoonful of butter (walnut sized)

It is the walnut season. So my recipe for today is salade de céleri aux noix et aux dattes. I bought some beautiful “medjoul” dates at the market this weekend, it is the season for them too, they are fresh and fleshy and delicious.

Celery, date and walnut salad

Celery, walnut and date salad

For 4 people you will need:

  • 1 head of celery (un pied de céleri)  (the green leafy kind, not celeriac)
  • 1 red onion
  • 12 walnuts (or 24 halves if you buy them ready shelled)
  • 4 large dates
  • Walnut oil (de l’huile de noix), shallot vinegar (du vinaigre à l’échalote), salt, pepper

 

Preparation:

  1. Wash the celery, keeping the leaves for soup. Use all the outside stalks: chop into small slices about 3 or 4mm thick. This cuts across all the fibres and makes the little pieces tender. Keep the heart to eat raw another time with cheese.
  2. Peel and finely slice the onion.
  3. Shell the walnuts, break each into 4 pieces.
  4. Pit the dates, chop each into 6 pieces.
  5. Mix these ingredients either in a bowl or on individual serving plates. Make a vinaigrette with 1/2 tbs shallot vinegar, 1/2 tbs walnut oil, 1tbs corn or peanut oil, salt and freshly ground pepper. Mix well and season the salad.

Bon appétit.

About OneFrenchWord

I was a professional linguist and have been a life-long foodie. I am now lucky enough to be retired and free to roam the beaches around my home at the tip of the Finistère (Brittany, France). Writing is occupying a larger place in my life, with this blog and a children's book in preparation. I shall feel much happier calling myself a writer when I have published a book. And so posts on OneFrenchWord will be published first as an e-book, my ambition being to see a glossy volume on French language and cuisine in print some day. So keep reading, and snap up the book when it appears!

7 responses »

  1. Not only do I love the French word, “noix”, but I really like nuts and celery. Will try this recipe soon!!!

    Reply
  2. This sounds delicious, and while you were writing about the french word noix meaning nut, I was making a scrumptious roasted walnut, garlic and basil pasta dish for dinner as I had been a bag full of freshly picked basil from my youngest sons garden. It seems we are all synchronising as the day before some were writing about dreaming. happy cooking!

    Reply
  3. Thank you both for your comments, I truly appreciate the time you take to make them.
    And Kate, I love the idea of your pasta sauce. Does it keep in a jar in the fridge for any length of time?

    Reply
  4. originalapplejunkie

    and again with the red onion..I’m drooling..!
    I have a bucket list..and on there..it says I want to cook something new every day for a year..I may just use your blog to do so..almost like a sort of Julie & Julia :)

    Reply
    • I think that would be any blog writer’s dream come true – not only to have someone following them every day, but acting on what they write every day too! Start by just doing something once a week…!

      Reply
  5. Pingback: Curry de poulet panaeng « CUISINE CAMBODGE

  6. Pingback: Baked apples with buttery hazelnut biscuits | One French Word

It's so much more fun if you leave a comment!

